Monday, September 2, 2013

Hugo Awards 2013....

So its the day after the Hugo's and this list cribbed from and variations of it are appearing all over the Internet. So I kinda called some of these and congratulate all the nominees and winners. I happened to watch the show on ustream well most of it anyhow before my feed quit and I could not get it to relaunch. Paul Cornell was a magnificent master of ceremonies and I cheered myself horse and clapped till me hands stung though I was not even there.... Yeah I'm kinda silly that way about fantasy and science fiction....

Here is the actual link to the post for you...

The winners of the 2013 Hugo Awards have been announced. Congratulations to all!

The Hugo Awards have been given since 1953, and every year since 1955, by the annual World Science Fiction Convention (the “Worldcon”). The first Worldcon occurred in New York City in 1939, and Worldcons have been held annually since then except during World War II. This year’s Worldcon is LoneStarCon 3, held in San Antonio, Texas from August 29 through September 2.

Winners for each category appear in bold:

Best Novel

Winner: Redshirts: A Novel with Three Codas by John Scalzi (Tor)

2312 by Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit)

Blackout by Mira Grant (Orbit)

Captain Vorpatril's Alliance by Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen)

Redshirts: A Novel with Three Codas by John Scalzi (Tor)

Throne of the Crescent Moon by Saladin Ahmed (DAW)

Best Novella

Winner: The Emperor's Soul by Brandon Sanderson (Tachyon Publications)

After the Fall, Before the Fall, During the Fall by Nancy Kress (Tachyon Publications)

On a Red Station, Drifting by Aliette de Bodard (Immersion Press)

San Diego 2014: The Last Stand of the California Browncoats by Mira Grant (Orbit)

“The Stars Do Not Lie” by Jay Lake (Asimov's, Oct-Nov 2012)

Best Novelette

Winner: “The Girl-Thing Who Went Out for Sushi” by Pat Cadigan (Edge of Infinity, Solaris)

“The Boy Who Cast No Shadow” by Thomas Olde Heuvelt (Postscripts: Unfit For Eden, PS Publications)

“Fade To White” by Catherynne M. Valente (Clarkesworld, August 2012)

“In Sea-Salt Tears” by Seanan McGuire (Self-published)

“Rat-Catcher” by Seanan McGuire (A Fantasy Medley 2, Subterranean)

Best Short Story

Winner: “Mono no Aware” by Ken Liu (The Future is Japanese, VIZ Media LLC)

“Immersion” by Aliette de Bodard (Clarkesworld, June 2012)

“Mantis Wives” by Kij Johnson (Clarkesworld, August 2012)

Note: category has 3 nominees due to a 5% requirement under Section 3.8.5 of the WSFS constitution.

Best Related Work

Winner: Writing Excuses Season Seven by Brandon Sanderson, Dan Wells, Mary Robinette Kowal, Howard Tayler and Jordan Sanderson

The Cambridge Companion to Fantasy Literature Edited by Edward James & Farah Mendlesohn (Cambridge UP)

Chicks Dig Comics: A Celebration of Comic Books by the Women Who Love Them Edited by Lynne M. Thomas & Sigrid Ellis (Mad Norwegian Press)

Chicks Unravel Time: Women Journey Through Every Season of Doctor Who Edited by Deborah Stanish & L.M. Myles (Mad Norwegian Press)

I Have an Idea for a Book… The Bibliography of Martin H. Greenberg Compiled by Martin H. Greenberg, edited by John Helfers (The Battered Silicon Dispatch Box)

Best Graphic Story

Winner: Saga, Volume One written by Brian K. Vaughn, illustrated by Fiona Staples (Image Comics)

Grandville Bête Noire written and illustrated by Bryan Talbot (Dark Horse Comics, Jonathan Cape)

Locke & Key Volume 5: Clockworks written by Joe Hill, illustrated by Gabriel Rodriguez (IDW)

Schlock Mercenary: Random Access Memorabilia by Howard Tayler, colors by Travis Walton (Hypernode Media)

Saucer Country, Volume 1: Run written by Paul Cornell, illustrated by Ryan Kelly, Jimmy Broxton and Goran Sudžuka (Vertigo)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

Winner: The Avengers Screenplay & Directed by Joss Whedon (Marvel Studios, Disney, Paramount)

The Cabin in the Woods Screenplay by Drew Goddard & Joss Whedon; Directed by Drew Goddard (Mutant Enemy, Lionsgate)

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey Screenplay by Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens, Peter Jackson and Guillermo del Toro, Directed by Peter Jackson (WingNut Films, New Line Cinema, MGM, Warner Bros)

The Hunger Games Screenplay by Gary Ross & Suzanne Collins, Directed by Gary Ross (Lionsgate, Color Force)

Looper Screenplay and Directed by Rian Johnson (FilmDistrict, EndGame Entertainment)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

Winner: Game of Thrones: “Blackwater” Written by George R.R. Martin, Directed by Neil Marshall. Created by David Benioff and D.B. Weiss (HBO)

Doctor Who: “The Angels Take Manhattan” Written by Steven Moffat, Directed by Nick Hurran (BBC Wales)

Doctor Who: “Asylum of the Daleks” Written by Steven Moffat; Directed by Nick Hurran (BBC Wales)

Doctor Who: “The Snowmen” Written by Steven Moffat, Directed by Saul Metzstein (BBC Wales)

Fringe: “Letters of Transit” Written by J.J. Abrams, Alex Kurtzman, Roberto Orci, Akiva Goldsman, J.H.Wyman, Jeff Pinkner. Directed by Joe Chappelle (Fox)

Best Editor, Short Form

Winner: Stanley Schmidt

John Joseph Adams

Neil Clarke

Jonathan Strahan

Sheila Williams

Best Editor, Long Form

Winner: Patrick Nielsen Hayden

Lou Anders

Sheila Gilbert

Liz Gorinsky

Toni Weisskopf

Best Professional Artist

Winner: John Picacio

Vincent Chong

Julie Dillon

Dan Dos Santos

Chris McGrath

Best Semiprozine

Winner: Clarkesworld edited by Neil Clarke, Jason Heller, Sean Wallace and Kate Baker

Apex Magazine edited by Lynne M. Thomas, Jason Sizemore and Michael Damian Thomas

Beneath Ceaseless Skies edited by Scott H. Andrews

Lightspeed edited by John Joseph Adams and Stefan Rudnicki

Strange Horizons edited by Niall Harrison, Jed Hartman, Brit Mandelo, An Owomoyela, Julia Rios, Abigail Nussbaum, Sonya Taaffe, Dave Nagdeman and Rebecca Cross

Best Fanzine

Winner: SF Signal edited by John DeNardo, JP Frantz, and Patrick Hester

Banana Wings edited by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer

The Drink Tank edited by Chris Garcia and James Bacon

Elitist Book Reviews edited by Steven Diamond

Journey Planet edited by James Bacon, Chris Garcia, Emma J. King, Helen J. Montgomery and Pete Young

Best Fan Writer

Winner: Tansy Rayner Roberts

James Bacon

Christopher J Garcia

Mark Oshiro

Steven H Silver

Best Fan Artist

Winner: Galen Dara

Brad W. Foster

Spring Schoenhuth

Maurine Starkey

Steve Stiles

Best Fancast

Winner: SF Squeecast, Elizabeth Bear, Paul Cornell, Seanan McGuire, Lynne M. Thomas, Catherynne M. Valente (Presenters) and David McHone-Chase (Technical Producer)

The Coode Street Podcast, Jonathan Strahan and Gary K. Wolfe

Galactic Suburbia Podcast, Alisa Krasnostein, Alexandra Pierce, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Presenters) and Andrew Finch (Producer)

SF Signal Podcast, Patrick Hester, John DeNardo, and JP Frantz

StarShipSofa, Tony C. Smith

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

Winner: Mur Lafferty

Zen Cho

Max Gladstone

Stina Leicht

Chuck Wendig



No comments:

Post a Comment